Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher Statement on Winning 2024 Democratic Primary for Texas’ Seventh Congressional District

Houston, TX–Today, Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) released the following statement after winning the 2024 Democratic Primary for Texas’ Seventh Congressional District. 

“I am honored and proud to represent Texas’ Seventh Congressional District, and am grateful to the voters in this district for electing me as the Democratic nominee for Texas’ Seventh Congressional District in the 2024 election cycle.  This campaign is, and always has been, a coalition of people from across our diverse and dynamic district who want to ensure that our community’s core values–inclusion, innovation, and collaboration–result in progress, equality, and opportunity for all Americans.

“I am so grateful to the many people who have worked to make it possible for me to serve our community in Congress for the past five years, and I look forward to continuing to partner with people across our community.  I hope that come November, the people of Texas’ Seventh Congressional District will allow me to continue doing just that, and to bring a little more Houston to Washington, D.C.”

Since she was sworn into office in 2019, Congresswoman Fletcher has worked with leaders from across the greater Houston area. She has a proven track record of bringing diverse voices together to advocate for common-sense solutions and deliver meaningful results for her constituents. 

Congresswoman Fletcher has earned endorsements from the Houston Chronicle as well as local, state, and national leaders and organizations for the 2024 cycle, including: Former Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner; Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo; Fort Bend County Judge KP George; Harris County Commissioner Rodney Ellis; Harris County Commissioner Adrian Garcia; Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones; Fort Bend County Commissioner Grady Prestage; Harris County Attorney Christian Menefee; Fort Bend County Sheriff Eric Fagan; Harris County Sheriff Ed Gonzales; Houston City Controller Chris Hollins; Texas State Representative Ann Johnson; Texas State Representative Ron Reynolds; Texas State Representative Hubert Vo; Texas State Representative Gene Wu; Houston City Council Member Sallie Alcorn; Houston City Council Member Abbie Kamin; Houston City Council Member Tiffany D. Thomas; Southside Place Mayor Andy Chan; former Houston METRO Chair Sanjay Ramabhadran; Former Houston Mayor Bill White; Former Houston Mayor Pro Tem and Council Member Ellen Cohen; Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi; House Assistant Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn; Congressman Steny Hoyer (MD-05); House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries; House Democratic Whip Katherine Clark; House Democratic Caucus Chair Pete Aguilar; Congressman Colin Allred (TX-32); Former Texas State Senator Wendy Davis; American Israel Public Affairs Committee; Animal Wellness Action; Area 5 Democrats; Congressional Black Caucus PAC; Defend the Vote; Democratic Majority for Israel; EMILY’s List; Equality PAC; Future Forum PAC; Greater Heights Democratic Club; Harris County Tejano Democrats; Harris County Young Democrats; Houston 80-20 Asian American PAC; Houston Black American Democrats; Houston LGBTQ+ Political Caucus; Human Rights Campaign; Humane Society Legislative Fund; Joint Action Committee for Political Affairs; Latino Labor Leadership Council of Southeast Texas; League of Conservation Voters; Moms Demand Action; Mothers for Democracy; National Women’s Political Caucus; NewDem Action Fund; Planned Parenthood Action Fund; Reproductive Freedom For All PAC; Run Sister Run; Team Blue; Texas Coalition of Black Democrats – Harris County Chapter; Texas Democrats with Disabilities; Texas Farm Bureau AGFUND; Texas Gulf Coast Area Labor Federation, Texas AFL-CIO; and Tri-State Maxed-Out Women.


Now in her third term in Congress, Fletcher was first elected to represent Texas’ Seventh Congressional District in 2018, becoming the first Democrat in more than 50 years and the first woman ever to represent TX-07.

Add Your Heading Text Here